Sub-Committee on Customs Procedures

The APEC Sub-Committee on Customs Procedures (SCCP), which reports to the Committee on Trade and Investment (CTI), was established in 1994 as a forum to fulfil the commitments of APEC Leaders and Ministers relating to customs matters. The SCCP’s goals are focused on trade facilitation, trade security and related enforcement matters, taking into account the responsibility of each customs administration for the effective implementation of legitimate border measures. The goals, structure and administration of the SCCP are laid out in its terms of reference.

The sub-committee has adopted “facilitation, accountability, consistency, transparency and simplification” as its basic guiding principles.

The SCCP will identify and pursue:

  • Actions for regional enhancement of harmonized and simplified customs procedures
  • Actions on enforcement matters related to trade facilitation
  • Joint actions and linkages with other government agencies and business/private sector organizations related to trade facilitation
  • Actions which contribute to the common development of customs human resources
  • Actions which foster an IT-friendly environment in customs procedures including paperless trading initiatives such as single window within individual economies
  • Actions which promote the security of the global supply chain and promote trade facilitation

The SCCP also addresses customs chokepoints or bottlenecks as listed in the APEC Supply Chain Connectivity Framework Action Plan Phase II (SCFAP II 2017-2022), and in alignment with the World Trade Organization (WTO) Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) and the Boracay Action Agenda to Globalize MSMEs in the Asia Pacific Region.  

These are examples of initiatives and outcomes the SCCP has carried over the past 20 years:

The SCCP’s efforts over the past two decades have contributed greatly to the two-time 5 percent reductions of APEC trade transaction costs and have played a fundamental role in the 10 percent improvement in supply chain performance among APEC economies in 2015.

These efforts will contribute to contribute in the development of a fair, transparent and dynamic economic and trading environment in the Asia-Pacific region.

The SCCP has three guests (with 3-year terms) that participate at its official meetings:

Last page update: April 2020

Current Activities

The SCCP holds two annual plenary meetings on the margins of the first and third Senior Officials’ Meetings (SOM1 and SOM3).

This year, the SCCP1 Plenary Meeting was held on 8–9 February 2020 in Putrajaya, Malaysia. The SCCP Chair for 2020 is Mr. Abdull Wahid Sulong, Director of Customs Corporate Planning Division of the Royal Malaysian Customs Department.

These are the group’s latest events and/or initiatives:

Key Deliverables 2019:

Upcoming Events 2020:

  • SCCP 2 Plenary Meeting, August 2020 (Penang, Malaysia)
  • Second Workshop – APEC Project “Integrating SMEs in AEO Certification: improving SMEs participation in APEC Secure Trade” (October 2020, Taipei)
  • APEC Customs Business Dialogue on “Digital Customs: Facilitating Cross Border Trade”

Relevant Documents:

Related News

See all news


Single Window

In 2007 the SCCP adopted the Working towards the Implementation of Single Window within APEC Economies: Single Window Development Report and the APEC SCCP Single Window Strategic Plan .

APEC Customs Directors-General/Commissioners Meeting

The year 2010 is a milestone for APEC in a sense that it is when the industrialized economies committed themselves to achieve the Bogor Goals of free and open trade and investment. Baring this into mind,

Customs Business Dialogue

The SCCP held its annual APEC Customs-Business Dialogue (ACBD) in Tokyo, Japan on 13 September 2010.


Contact Us

Mr Abdull Wahid Sulong

Royal Malaysian Customs Department
SCCP Chair 2020
[email protected]

Mr Yahya Sulaiman

Royal Malaysian Customs Department
SCCP Chair’s Assistant
[email protected]

Ms Nor Izah Abd Latif

Royal Malaysian Customs Department
SCCP Chair’s Assistant
[email protected]


Program Director
[email protected]