Skip to main content

Automotive Dialogue

The APEC Automotive Dialogue (AD) is a forum where APEC officials and senior auto industry representatives work together to map out strategies for increasing the integration and development of the automotive sector within the region.

The AD was established in recognition of the crosscutting nature of the automotive industry and of the broad benefits to many economies of trade liberalization and facilitation in this sector. It allows the public and private sectors to work together to improve policy development, to identify barriers to growth and to develop effective cooperation mechanisms for APEC economies to address and reduce impediments.

The AD engages participants in cooperative efforts to foster the growth and development of the regional auto industry and to provide actionable recommendations to APEC ministers and Leaders.

The AD has a clearly defined set of priority action areas based on Leaders’ declarations and ministerial statements as well as instructions from senior officials and the APEC Committee on Trade and Investment. The directions for the activities of AD are also set in its terms of reference and work plan.

The AD continues to discuss trade and trade-related regulatory issues affecting the competitiveness and sustainable development of the automotive industry in the Asia-Pacific region. The dialogue will continue to focus its discussion on market access, including free trade agreements, tax structure and regimes, and non-tariff measures; trade and business facilitation; harmonization of standards and regulations; new technologies; and economic and technical cooperation related to the automotive industry in the Asia-Pacific region.

Upcoming Events:

The next Auto Dialogue meeting is scheduled for Q3 2021

Last page update: June 2021


Todd Peterson (Mr)
Automotive Dialogue Chair (USA)
Office of Transportation and Machinery
Industry and Analysis
U.S. Department of Commerce/International Trade Administration
Email: [email protected]
Nick Coutsos (Mr)
Automotive Dialogue Chair (USA)
Chief of Staff
American Automotive Policy Council
Email: [email protected]
Program Director