Skip to main content

APEC Observers

Last page update:

APEC has three official observers: the Association of Southeast Asian Nations Secretariat, the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council and the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat. Representatives from these groups participate in APEC meetings and have full access to documents and information related to the work of member economies, helping to track progress and provide guidance in support of APEC objectives.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Secretariat

ASEAN ( consists of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. According to the ASEAN Declaration, members aim to:

  • Accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian nations.
  • Promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries in the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.

Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC)

PECC ( is a partnership of senior individuals from government, business, academia and other intellectual circles that examines policy issues for the Asia-Pacific, freely and in a private capacity. It promotes cooperation to advance economic development in the region and is guided by the following premises:

  • The respective strengths of participants can be better focused to promote the acceleration of economic growth, social progress, scientific and technological development and environmental quality in the region.
  • Trade, joint ventures, mutual aid and other forms of linkage, when developed in a spirit of partnership, fairness, respect and genuine cooperation, strengthen the foundation needed for a prosperous, progressive and peaceful Pacific region.

Pacific Islands Forum (PIF) Secretariat

PIF ( is the paramount regional inter-governmental forum in the South Pacific. PIF addresses issues including trade, economic development, the environment and regional law enforcement, cooperation and security in the region.

Members of PIF include: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.