Skip to main content

Assessment of Achievements of the Bogor Goals in 2010

Last page update:

Bogor Goals

When APEC Leaders gathered in Bogor, Indonesia in 1994, they committed to achieve free and open trade and investment by 2010 for industrialized economies and by 2020 for developing economies. APEC members agreed to pursue this goal by further reducing barriers to trade and investment and by promoting the free flow of goods, services and capital.


These targets became known as the "Bogor Goals," an ambitious manifestation of APEC's common belief that free and open trade and investment are essential to realize the growth potential of the region and enhance economic and social outcomes for all APEC economies.


Assessment of Achievements of the Bogor Goals in 2010


In 2010, the target year for the industrialized economies to achieve the Bogor Goals, five industrialized economies, as well as eight volunteering developing economies, underwent a detailed assessment of progress made in free and open regional trade and investment under the Bogor Goals, which was conducted by APEC.


Based on the analyses of these efforts and achievements made by these thirteen economies, and taking into account the various developments of global circumstances, APEC Leaders concluded that while more work remains to be done, significant progress has been made toward achieving the Bogor Goals at their Meeting in Yokohama, Japan in 2010.


Report on Assessment of Achievements of the Bogor Goals

The detailed assessment of the achievement of Bogor Goals by the thirteen APEC economies (herein the "2010 economies") can be found in the "Report on Assessment of Achievements of the Bogor Goals."


Analysis contained in the report is drawn from several sources, including detailed factsheets submitted by the 2010 economies, as well as additional information provided by member economies.


Fact Sheets on Individual Economies' Trade and Investment Liberalization and Facilitation Efforts


Industrialized economies

AustraliaDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Australia
CanadaDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Canada
JapanDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Japan
New ZealandDownload PDF - Fact sheets of New Zealand
United States Download PDF - Fact sheets of United States

Developing economies (volunteered ahead of schedule to be part of the 2010 assessment)

ChileDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Chile
Hong Kong, ChinaDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Hong Kong, China
Korea Download PDF - Fact sheets of Korea
MalaysiaDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Malaysia
MexicoDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Mexico
PeruDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Peru
Singapore Download PDF - Fact sheets of Singapore
Chinese TaipeiDownload PDF - Fact sheets of Chinese Taipei


The submission of the fact sheets above by the 2010 economies is considered to replace the submission of their IAP submission in 2010.



The reference materials are independent from the report and are not necessarily endorsed by the APEC member economies. The report draws data and analyses from independent reports by the following organizations:

APEC Policy Support Unit (PSU) Download PDF - PSU report
World Trade Organisation (WTO) Download PDF - WTO report
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Download PDF- OECD report
United Nations Commission for Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Download PDF- UNCTAD report
World Bank Download PDF- World Bank report
Asian Development Bank (ADB) Download PDF- ADB report
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Download PDF- IDB report