Skip to main content

APEC’s 2023 Science Prize Nominations Announced

APEC Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation Singapore | 19 July 2023

2023 ASPIRE finalists

Sixteen young scientists from the 21 APEC member economies are advancing environmental resiliency and sustainability in the region and have been nominated for this year’s APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE).

The science prize recognizes researchers who have demonstrated remarkable achievements in transformative scientific research through collaboration with other scientists from APEC member economies.

This year’s prize theme, selected by the United States as the APEC 2023 host, is “Inclusive Science, Technology, and Innovation for a Resilient and Sustainable Environment” with a focus on promoting diverse perspectives and an inclusive scientific ecosystem.

“The research conducted by these young scientists reaffirms APEC’s shared commitment to promoting innovation and advancing sustainable development goals in our respective economies and our region collectively," said Xuemei Yang, Chair of the APEC Policy Partnership for Science, Technology, and Innovation, which administers the annual prize. 

Research and studies by the 2023 ASPIRE nominees vary from renewable solar energy utilization and carbon capture, environmental pollution and its health impacts, mathematical models to predict the prognosis of COVID-19, nanotechnology and photocatalyst oxidation, computational approaches to address natural disasters as well as quantum thermodynamics.

“ASPIRE helps us highlight the great work that collaboration in science can bring about, the young scientists who support this cooperation, and the ideals of openness and transparency in their research,” said Matt Murray, US Senior Official for APEC.

Click here to meet the 2023 ASPIRE finalists

“More than just an award, ASPIRE celebrates significant milestones in the advancement of science, technology and innovation,” said Brian Napack, President and Chief Executive Officer of Wiley. “By celebrating the accomplishments of young scientists, we can inspire leaders and problem solvers to use scientific inquiry to achieve a more sustainable future."

The winner of this year’s ASPIRE will be announced at an in-person award ceremony in August in Seattle, United States, and will be awarded USD 25,000. This award is supported by ASPIRE co-sponsors and scientific publishers Wiley and Elsevier.

“When we combine our talents, ideas and resources, we create transformative solutions that make everyone’s lives better, not just in the Asia-Pacific region but the world at large,” added Youngsuk “Y.S.” Chi, Chairman of Elsevier.

“I am confident that the impact of their work will inspire us all to strengthen cooperation among APEC economies, which is essential in achieving a more sustainable future,” Chi concluded. 

Since its establishment in 2011 during the last United States’ host year, ASPIRE has recognized young scientists working on issues ranging from natural laboratories, food security, sustainable ocean development, biodiversity, strengthening international science and technology networks, and promoting innovation.

For further details, please contact:

Masyitha Baziad +65 9751 2146 at [email protected]
Michael Chapnick +65 9647 4847 at [email protected]